CEDIA Global Membership

Members in 79 Countries

CEDIA 2019 membership is 3,940 member companies in 79 countries, truly a global organization. Two highlights this year were the 26% membership increase in India and reaching 1,000 members in the EMEA region, both huge milestones.

CEDIA Lifetime Achievement Award

Michael Heiss

The CEDIA Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has exhibited outstanding, creative, innovative, and visionary leadership in the growth and advancement of the residential technology industry. Nominations are submitted by industry professionals and evaluated on the basis of achievement and service within the industry.2020 recipient Michael Heiss was honored as part of the 2020 CEDIA Awards Program, which was hosted virtually.

“Early on, CEDIA desperately needed smart people to step up and train this new industry that we had created. Michael stepped forward from the very beginning. From teaching, to creating certification programs and exams, he has touched thousands and made our world a better place. His huge heart and never-ending energy, and a willingness to volunteer on CEDIA’s behalf around the world makes him incredibly deserving of this award,” said Eric Bodley, the 2017 CEDIA Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient.

CEDIA Fellow

Dennis Erskine

Dennis Erskine, founder of Colorado-based Erskine Group, Inc., has been recognized as a 2020 CEDIA Fellow. Erskine is the 30th industry contributor to be selected by the CEDIA Board of Directors as a CEDIA Fellow.

The CEDIA Fellows program honors longtime CEDIA members and volunteers who have contributed significantly to the association’s success.

“Dennis’ name is synonymous with CEDIA,” says CEDIA Board of Directors Chairman Rob Sutherland. “His efforts to drive higher standards, progress best practices, and strengthen outcomes and rigor for CEDIA Certification have been exceptional throughout the years. Dennis represents the best of spirit and service in the industry and he joins elite company, indeed, as a CEDIA Fellow.”

Volunteer of the Year

Stuart Robertson

After 12 years as an electrician, Stuart first started in the audio/visual industry installing home theaters and multiroom audio/video systems. From the early ‘90s through today, he has been integrating all forms of electronic systems and lighting controls. In that time, he’s been involved with CEDIA in Asia Pacific as a previous board member, education chair, and vice president.  He currently serves on the Professional Development Advisory Council (PDAC) and the Technical Education Working Group (TEWG). He is the owner and founder of Sound Living in Melbourne, Australia.

Education Volunteer of the Year

Janeen Gaskins

Janeen Gaskins is the Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer of G.A.S.K.I.N.S. Charity, a new non-profit providing vulnerable populations with lifestyle convenience through designs engineered to integrate and automate smart spaces that improve safety, enhance health, increase socialization, advance productivity, and ensures a better quality of life.

Prior to starting her own nonprofit, Janeen was the owner, Vice President and Chief Operations Officer of Shakatronics Audio Video LLC., a for-profit technology solutions integration company for 12 years. Janeen is currently involved in in CEDIA’s Business Working Group and Professional Development Advisory Council; Grant Professional Association (GPA) and recently graduated from Empower by GoDaddy Program which provided a scholarship to start her Charity.

New Volunteer of the Year

Peter Trauth

Peter Trauth, owner and president of Nirvana Home Entertainment, has spent some 20 years at a variety of industry businesses. He manages and works with multiple technician teams as a home technology consultant and audio, video, communications, and IT technician.

Trauth hires, trains, and supervises teams of three-to-five employees with an emphasis on driving communication, transparency, efficiency, autonomy, and a “path to solution” approach within the workplace. He holds multiple CEDIA Certifications. Trauth is an active member of the CEDIA Certification Commission, Technician Job Analysis Task Force, and CIT Exam Development Working Group.